Everyone Loves a Poop Joke

I’m not quite sure how we got to this point, but tonight after dinner, I sang Nico a revised rendition of “Part of Your World” from the Little Mermaid, but substituting words like fart and pooping for “here” and “dancing.”

OK. That’s not quite true. I know how we got to this point. It started with Marta taking Nico to see Little Mermaid the play and Nico becoming infatuated with everything Little Mermaid. And I’m not just talking about the Ariel herself. I’m also talking about her father (el papá de la sirenita), and Ursula (la mala malísima).

In fact, there have been many an afternoon in which Nico spends an hour or more casting characters around our house. Usually she’s the Little Mermaid and I’m her father and Marta is Ursula. But sometimes Nico decides she’s the father and then I am her daughter and Marta is a random fish. After we’re giving our roles, we never do all that much with them. Usually just when I deepen my voice and start affecting Father posturing, Nico decides she’s now a dog and I’m her owner and all my efforts are for naught.

But such is the life with an almost three year old.

Another part of life with an almost three year old is, well, the poop joke. Which is where this story is all going to come together. You see, Nico thinks it’s really funny to say caca or poop. And, I have to admit, I kind of think it’s funny too. I mean, I don’t think it’s funny when she says it fifty times in a row, in the same sort of way, and laughs maniacally each time. But I do think it’s funny when it’s randomly thrown in there.

Like before we were going to Santa Fe for spring break last week, and Nico joked that it was actually called Santa Caca. That’s pretty darn funny.

Funny, too, is when you sing the Little Mermaid song and it suddenly goes like this:

“I want to be where the people fart. I want to see, want to see them… pooping. Walking around on those, what do you call them again? Oh yeah! Snot! Up where it’s fun. Up where they run. Up where they poop all day in the sun.”

And so it goes. This is what is happening to my life. I just thought you all should know.

Also, speaking of pretend, here’s a photo of Nico pretending she’s a wolf:

IMG_0780

And here’s one of her locking us up in a replica of the jail cell Billy the Kid was in and then telling us we should pretend to be horses in our cage:

IMG_0776

7 thoughts on “Everyone Loves a Poop Joke

Leave a Reply

